2 0 1 3 – 2 0 1 4

As the year is winding down, I keep thinking back to 2013 and what a whirl-wind of a year it’s been. It was one for the books. I learned a lot, loved a lot, and hurt (just a little.) I learned that thing’s don’t always turn out the way we planned, or the way we think they should. I never thought I would stand up for the things I did, including standing up for myself. If I could pin-point exactly one way I have changed throughout the year, it would be that I’ve learned to expect bullshit, but never accept it. I mustered up the courage to let go of those who no longer bring me fulfillment in my life.

I look back exactly a year ago, December 31, 2012, and I feel like I have come so far since then. In all aspects.

By deciding to add Advertising/PR along with my Business degree, it could have been one of the best decisions I have made in a long, long time. One of my professors this year said on the last day of class, “I used everything as an excuse not to write, sometimes you just need a kick in the face.” I actually started to get worried I was going to burst out crying then and there. I’m not sure what it was, but he really struck a nerve with me. And that leads me to the English class I took last year. Despite how challenging it was, it made me realize my love and potential for writing. Since then, I’ve had my writing published and over 4,000 views thanks to you weirdo’s who read my blog.

As for everything else, I’m learning more every day.

I’ve compiled a few things that sum up my year. Not specifically things that came out in 2013 – more of those that carried me through the year or reminded me of specific times during 2013.

Music

We Don’t Eat – James Vincent McMorrow

The Morning – The Weeknd

Doses & Mimosas -Cherub

Come on Eileen – Dexy’s Midnight Runners

Walt Grace’s Submarine Test, January 1967 – John Mayer ft Chris Botti

Re: Stacks – Bon Iver

Something, Somewhere, Sometime – Ben Solee & Daniel Martin Moore

Concerts

 Cherub x 2 || Gregory Alan Isakov || Johnny Lang || Portland Cello Project || Pretty Lights || Ivan & Alyosha || The Lonely Biscuits ||

Photos

clairewieger.vsco.co

Quotes

 “Do your thing. Do it unapologetically. Don’t be discouraged by criticism. You probably already know what they’re going to say. Pay no mind to the fear of failure. It’s far more valuable than success. Take ownership, take chances, and have fun. And no matter what, don’t ever stop doing your thing.”
-Asher Roth

 “Find bliss, stay awhile.”

 “You will always be too much of something for someone: too big, too loud, too soft, too edgy. If you round out your edges, you lose your edge.”
– Danielle LaPorte

2014

Now, for 2014. None of that “New year, new me” bullshit. I’m going to see where the year takes me and hopefully make a few memories along the way. I never really make a New Years Resolution, just a few goals that I attempt and usually fail at doing, but it gives me things to look forward to. So for 2014, here are 14 things I (hope) to accomplish.

1. Complete the Lincoln Half-Marathon 2. Score that job for the summer 3. Survive a week in Panama City Beach, FL 4. Live minimally & save money 5. Take opportunities that advance my career 6. Journal 7. Attend a music festival 8. Turn off electronics & go outside 9. Let my guard down 10. Sing karaoke at Fuzzy’s 11. Create more art 12. Go to bed early, wake up early 13. Attend church more 14. Stop dwelling, focus on the time being

I hope your 2014 may be filled with magic and dreams and good madness. I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful, and don’t forget to make some art – write or draw or build or sing or live as only as you can. And I hope, somewhere in the next year, you surprise yourself.

Leave a Reply

